My five month review of the Spark EV

Chevy Spark EV Forum

Help Support Chevy Spark EV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

greenspark

My 5 month review of the Spark EV

I have been leasing my Spark EV for over five months now (lease details in this thread), so I thought it might be helpful to give a detailed review now that I know it inside and out. To make my bias very clear, I love this car. It is very fun to drive, easy to park, and my amortized cost of $55 a month after subtracting the California rebate is an amazing deal. In the interests of conciseness, I will focus my review on aspects of the car that are not covered by other reviews nor things that would be obviously apparent from sitting in the car.

I'll start my review with all of the things I like about the Spark EV. Then I will discuss its deficiencies, the few issues with my specific car, and advice for new owners. I believe the only major feature of this car that I have not tested is the heater since I live in Southern California and have only driven it from April-October.

The Good
Acceleration
This car accelerates fast. In addition to putting a smile on your face, the ample acceleration and instant torque makes driving easier (and possibly safer). You can quickly get up to speed after making a right turn into traffic. If you are a cautious driver this might reduce the risk of getting rear ended. Changing lanes by zipping in front of another car from a red light is also easy. Passing on the freeway is also a breeze. Good acceleration and braking can also make driving trips a bit shorter when driving on a road with many stop signs. No engine noise means that you can zoom around at night without waking up the neighborhood.